Posted on

Back in Time

Back in junior year during high school, I took a creative writing course to improve my hobby of writing as well as meet people who also strive for something meaningful in that class or for themselves. I remember writing a post in the middle of the night about a book I was completely absorbed in and couldn’t bring myself to sleep from how much excitement the book brought me. I remember the feelings I had at the time I was reading and when I was writing. My body was shaking from the pressure I put on myself to write a post that completely described the thrill I was going through. It’s strange how fictional books or anything unrealistic can bring so many emotions and thought out of a person, even when they understand that it isn’t real. I haven’t been posting on here for so long because whenever I got an idea, I told myself (mentally) that the post was a good idea but I wouldn’t be able to write it as well as I did with my other posts.. Basically that I could not reach my own standards. But now that the ideas are flowing and flooding my head, I must tell something. Something that these books, these views, these perspectives have done to me. I was just reading a thrilling and emotionally-intense book called Joyland  by a well-known author by the name of Stephen King. I’m only 16 pages into the book and a single line in the first paragraph has stopped me from reading just to write this. Devin Jones, in the voice of Stephen King, says,” I’m not sure anybody gets over their first love, and that still rankles.” This could be a theme right here. Something that could be applied to everyone but may not necessarily be true. I just needed to be able to relate to this because the person I first loved changed how I saw myself and helped me understand how much I can do for others. Lingering feelings that never went away. Distant memories that seem to be fading but stay close but hidden. A single characteristic that flashes me back to what it was first like to see it. I don’t know where I’m going with this anymore. I just wanted to share myself a little bit since it’s been such a long time. Thanks to one of my favorite authors and a constant inspiration from the people and books around me, I plan to keep sharing myself on here. And a thanks to not only my first love but every person who has associated themselves with me, for I believe that every encounter has added a new part to myself. Finally, thank you to my freshman year language arts teacher for always challenging me and encouraging me to try my best and look past what I want. I should have dedicated my book to him.

About Austin Yawn

I don't really understand these kind of sites..

5 responses to “Back in Time

  1. Hey, you. Yeah, you with the profoundness, you’re a neat duderino. I think it’s cool that Stephen King is the source of so many people’s incentive and dedication to write, solely because of the firm example of discipline he sets so effortlessly. He’s a versatile author whose books encompass an inconceivably wide spectrum of emotions and themes. The feeling that you’re having of an overwhelming – a swelling – of ideas that NEED to be incarnated is eerily relatable.
    The first time I read one of Stephen King’s little opening anecdotes about the experience he had writing the book which I was about to read (The Gunslinger), he said something that made me view him as more of just a regular dude and not a LITERAL book-writing-machine, and humbled him in a way that I respected so much off the cuff that I knew I would finish reading his Dark Tower saga before I even started it. But more importantly, I think it perfectly encompasses the evolution of anyone who thoroughly enjoys writing and can’t just stop doing it; a process you seem to be going through as much as me. Just before The Gunslinger started, he said:

    “Before I close, I should say a word about the younger man who dared to write this book. That young man had been exposed to far too many writing seminars, and had grown far too used to the ideas those seminars promulgate: that one is writing for other people rather than one’s self; that language is more important than story; that ambiguity is to be preferred over clarity and simplicity, which are usually the signs of a thick and literal mind.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • You… Yes you Sir. You have basically blown my mind right after commenting on a post about Stephen King who, just a day a go, blew my mind. I always knew of his reputation but actually getting into his life, rather than his line of work, has truly added a new respectable author into my life. Not saying that he wasn’t one before but rather that I had not discovered him yet and always nonchalantly lied that I had read into his own mind. And seeing this comment from you encourages me to keep writing knowing that there is someone who thinks and sees even deeper than I do in the time and efforts of others. So with that, I thank King for his overwhelming pieces and change upon my foundation for certain books, and You, Jake, for your inspiring, yet garbled, comment,

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

